top of page

Let It Go...Seriously

It’s November. You’re deep into the school year now. You’re calendars are probably just count downs to Thanksgiving and Christmas break. You’re excited for some time where you MIGHT actually get to see your loved ones, and and possibly sleep without thinking of school for an hour….am I right? This time of year is madness. You’ve got tests, homework, essays, presentations, sports practices, concerts etc. and on top of all that you just watched a crazy election. If you are anything like me, you’re stressed, anxious, and probably experiencing moments like these:

http://giphy.com/gifs/community-school-study-N7AOIqqUpjXUc
http://giphy.com/gifs/stress-8NqccSVfN5FS0
http://giphy.com/gifs/stephen-colbert-scared-12ZXZv7aoviBgI

Don’t worry….there is hope.

I can’t tell you the number of times I have let my anxiety and stress get the best of me to the point where I’m just sitting on my floor crying and upset without really knowing why. This happens when I let my fears take hold of me. I give in to the thought that I can’t do all the things I need to do. I start to, for a moment, feel alone.

But then I remember that I am not alone.

It is in our worst moments that God carries us. It is at the hardest points in our lives that we need to remember to turn back to Him instead of trying to figure it all out on our own. Most of the time when I get to this point, it is because I have walked away from Christ just for a moment. My pride gets the best of me. I think I have all the answers; I think I can do it all alone.

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/334321972322482084/

Imagine that you are camping in the woods at night. At one point you think that you can go off on your own away from your fire without a flashlight and still find your way. The further you walk away from the fire, the less you feel the heat, and the darker it gets. It becomes harder and harder to find our way back in the dark, and we start to become cold, and afraid. Our prayer life is our flashlight and the fire is the love and burning passion of Christ that keeps us warm, hopeful, and alive. As long as we have our flashlight, we'll find our way back.

Trying to remember this when we are in the midst of anxiety can be tricky. While we are stressed, we look at this big lump of a “To Do” list in front of us. Or maybe we’re anxious about things going on at home, so we stare at this seemly never-ending abyss that doesn’t seem to have an emergency exit sign. Both are overwhelming, and both destroy hope. In those moments, we must listen to the words of St. Peter who says, “Cast all your worries upon him because he cares for you” (1 Peter 5:7). Easier said then done? Then give yourself a moment to really reflect on your anxieties. Don’t run from them, stare them in the face. Once you do, you’ll be able to see that no matter the outcome, you’ll survive it. You will not actually be killed by your teachers if you hand in a paper late, you will not go to a bad college because of those 3 failed science tests. Above all, you will not be left alone in your suffering.

If you still feel overwhelmed, here’s exactly what Jesus thinks about anxiety:

"Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you shall eat or what you shall drink, nor about your body, what you shall put on.

Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?

Look at the birds of the air:

they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns,

and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?

And which of you by being anxious can add one cubit to his span of life?

And why are you anxious about clothing?

Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow;

they neither toil nor spin;

yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.

But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O men of little faith?

Therefore do not be anxious, saying,

`What shall we eat?' or `What shall we drink?' or `What shall we wear?'

For the Gentiles seek all these things;

and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness,

and all these things shall be yours as well.

"Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Let the day's own trouble be sufficient for the day.”

-Matthew 6:25-34

In short,

Jesus says he’s got it. God’s got it. The Holy Spirit’s got it. Don’t worry.

So take this passage, or your favorite bible verse, and put it up in your bathroom mirror, in your locker, or even on your bedroom ceiling so you can see it before bed and when you wake up. Make it a constant reminder for yourself to trust in God, even when it is too hard. Let it be something you can anchor yourself too, when everything else seems to cave in. Most importantly, never forget Christ’s promises to us, and your anxiety will turn to hope.

About the Author

 

Maria Barone

I’m just your typical Italian-American, Buffalo-born, puppy-lovin’, adventure seeking, Catholic girl that actually isn’t that typical. I’m always ready to travel the world and learn new things while staying true to myself, my roots, and my faith. If you wanna see just how crazy I am go ahead and follow me on instagram @ria21993 or on Pinterest at ria223!

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page