top of page

Wait…It’s Still Easter?

Easter was this last Sunday. It says so on every 2016 calendar that’s been printed. That’s it. Just one day. But, come on, can one day really contain our Easter joy? How about eight days? Easter is one of the two solemnities in the liturgical year that Catholics celebrate for a whole Octave (If you know what the other one is, insert "air high five’"). This way of celebrating is rooted in the Jewish tradition. Jewish feasts, like Passover for instance, are celebrated for just as long. But why eight days? As I reflected on this, the first thing that came to my mind was the creation accounts in the book of Genesis. I thought of the seven days in which God created the world. I thought of the fact that the number seven is a number that symbolizes completion, fulfillment. Then, I thought of the fact that Christ rose from the dead on the first day of the week: Sunday. On this day that the sun (or should I say, The Son) rose in the east, everything changed. The first day became the eighth day, a brand new day, a day that something is completed. "It is finished."

Why is Easter So Important?

My Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ died on the cross for me. But is that all he did? Not a chance. First, his body disappears from the tomb. Then, he spends a good amount of time appearing to a great number of people (Yes, after he had died!) He taught them, he ate with them, and he prepared them to carry on his mission on earth. He rose from the dead, showing me that death has no power over him. Nor does it have power over me. Yes, I will die someday. I have no idea when (Hopefully not today, because I need to go to confession), but by God’s grace I will live again with Him for all eternity, and he paved the way for me. As St. Paul tells us in Romans 6: 8-9, “If, then, we have died with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with him. We know that Christ, raised from the dead, dies no more; death no longer has power over him.” I look at the cross, and I know what love looks like. I look at the resurrected Lord, and I know what power looks like. Every time I put my selfishness and pride to death and choose freedom in Christ over sin and evil, I am celebrating Easter.

wordonfire.org

For those that were Baptized at Easter Vigil this year, Easter was certainly not just another day. It was the beginning of a new life in Christ. So, to keep this celebration of our Easter joy going, one of our teens wanted to share a bit about his own journey home.

My parents were both raised in the Catholic Church. Upon having a child (me), my mother was convinced that I should not be baptized, but that I should have a choice in which faith I wished to follow. Growing up, I was only mildly ever introduced to the Catholic faith, or any faith for that matter. I had grown up to believe that Christianity was cliché and overrated; my only perception of Christianity had come from public education at the time.

As an only child, the thing I grew up to appreciate the most was time alone. I enjoyed quite time and the freedom that came with it. Going through public school and spending time with my cousins, I ever more longed for time alone, which is ironic being that I am extremely extroverted.

My entire life I was taught that all people are equal, but in my interactions with my cousins, I noticed that the girls would often get more lavish gifts than the boys from my parents and grandparents. When I complained about that to my cousins, they replied simply, "girls rule, boys drool.” From that day forward, I felt as if there was something fundamentally wrong with society. I felt that I had been lied to about everything; it was this day that inspired me to explore philosophy and political theory to provide an explanation for such a false system. In short, I was a huge nerd.

I became very frustrated at the world around me. My cousins that I was irritated with were Catholic, so I wanted to be the opposite of them. I became very selfish and I identified as an atheist, though I constantly professed hatred for God; which meant that in the back of my head, I believed he existed. I dug into philosophy and politics, reading 20+ books on political theory and philosophy that would take me away from the world I was frustrated with. The most important of these works were Aristotle's "ethics and the virtues" and a book called the Enchiridion, which finally provided me a morality that I lacked, which eventually lead to my conversion.

The ethics and morality I adopted made me a temperate and calmer person. I was concerned with not being a hypocrite in my beliefs. I was happier, but still not content. Browsing the internet one day, I came across a quote from Nobel Prize winning physicist Werner Heisenberg who said, “The first gulp from the glass of natural sciences will turn you into an atheist, but at the bottom of the glass God is waiting for you.” That quote stayed in my mind for some time, making me feel more uncomfortable than usual. I decided to reflect heavily on it. I then realized how hypocritical I had been, and after analyzing some scripture I had read on a free Bible website, I realized my adopted morality lined up almost to the tee with Christian morality. I decided to give prayer a try, seeing no harm in it.

And I found grace that day.

I felt for the first time in my life that my heart beat with a purpose; my frustration was truly alleviated after an hour in prayer. I decided that whatever and whoever God is, I liked him. I read into scriptures to find the verse in Galatians about Christian freedom. “For freedom Christ set us free; so stand firm and do not submit again to the yoke of slavery.” (Galatians 5:1) The moment I read this, I was satisfied entirely with Christianity; this was exactly what I was missing all these years. I still didn't want to be a hypocrite, and I knew a Christian that did not practice his or her faith was not truly a Christian. I looked into churches and their theological standing and after two months of church-hopping, I ended up at St. Mary Magdalene Catholic Church at request of my friend Jo Bender. Coincidence had it that the day and Mass that I first came to at St. Mary Magdalene was exactly one year from when I would be Baptized here. During this past year, I attended Mass very frequently, then joined youth group and sacramental prep in order to be Baptized. I made many friends along the way, including but not limited to, Maria and Lita, the youth evangelization coordinators at the Parish. These two would guide me into my baptism and hopeful salvation, for which I can't express a gratitude great enough.

The day came for my Baptism, Confirmation, and first Communion on Easter Vigil this year. As the candles of the light of Christ were lit at that Mass I thought, "the day is finally here, the day I am free". With my sponsor Jo, we walked up to the altar after I answered the 6 questions of faith and I was finally baptized.

Photo by Lita Arroyo

Though not much water initially landed on my head, the coolness of the water was the most refreshing and satisfying experience I ever had. I knew once the third splash of water touched my head, that I was finally free. The freedom I gained was not a societal one, but a freedom from sin, and the equality I once wanted will also be granted, but not in some ludicrous liberal utopia, but the Kingdom of Heaven.

I am filled with joy now that I am finally at home where I, and all of God's children belong: The One... and Holy...Catholic and Apostolic Church.

~ David McNamara, Junior at Basha H.S.

Easter, which we celebrate through this upcoming Divine Mercy Sunday, is a day to remind ourselves that we live for something; or rather, for Someone. Don’t stop celebrating! Let’s pray for each other, that during this Easter Season we will remember the great love and mercy that our Lord has for us and that we will make the choice, every single day, to live in the joy and freedom of Jesus Christ, our risen Lord.

ALLELUIA!

About the Author

 

Lita Arroyo

I love all things true, good, and beautiful. I never walk by roses without smelling them and I always stop to watch the sunset. I love the Lord with all my heart, and I find Him in the most ordinary of places. If you can’t find me, I’m probably in a chapel or a coffee shop. Follow me on Instagram @litasnotintotemptation or Twitter @FollowinTheLita.

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page